This list is extracted from the View of the Political State of Scotland, at Michaelmas 1811, to which is added the results of the General Election in 1812. Prior to the 1832 Reform Act only Freeholders were qualified to vote county representation at the Houses of Parliament. A Freeholder was a man who was a landowner with property worth at least  £400 Scots valued rent. It is noteworthy that the 2 candidates voted for each other.


At the Election on the 2d November 1812, the Roll made up at Michaelmas 1811 had undergone the following alterations;

Major Basil Heron of Drumnaught.
James Tweddall of Glenlaggan.
Lieutenant-Colonel Thomas Goldie of Goldielee.
John Gordon of Lochdougan.
Major General Ilay Ferrier Cutlar of Orroland.
Thomas Hughan of Kirkbride.

Walter Bigham Laurie of Redcastle.
Robeit Ferguson Cutlar of Orroland.
Robert Ainslie of Edingham.
Rohert Milligan of Little Furth-head.
Samuel Gordon of Lochdougan.
William Corrie, younger of Dunrod.
Dr Alexander Wylie of Overlaggan.
Thomas Goldie of Goldielee.

Total number of voting Freeholders, 137

At this Election, 48 Freeholders voted for Major-General James Dunlop of Dunlop ; and 30 for William Douglas, Esq. of Almorness. Major-General James Dunlop, accordingly was returned.

Voters for Major-General James Dunlop,
Lieutenant-Colonel Sir David Maxwell of Cardoness, Baronet.
George Maxwell of Carruchan.
David Blair of Borgue.
Hugh Stewart of Gategill.
William McCaw of Barnshalloch.
Richard Alexander Oswald of Aurhencruive.
John McCulloch of Barholm.
Stewart Murray Fullarton of Bartonholm.
Thomas Goldie of Craigmuie.
Douglas Hamilton Craik of Arbigland;
William Irving of Gribton.
John Clark of Nunland.
William Ireland of Barbey.
David Maxwell, younger of Cardoness.
John Costen of Glenson.
Alexander Maxwell of Terraughty.
James Murray McCulloch of Ardwall.
Patrick Campbell of Queenshill.
Major Robert Nugent Dunbar of Machermore.
Robert Birtwhistle of Barharrow.
Thomas Crichton of Auchenskeoch, Advocate.
David Blair, younger of Borgue;
Robert Hannay of Ruscoe.
The Rev. John Garlies Maitland of Fairgirth.
James MCKie of Bargally.
Patrick Stewart of Cairnsmuir,
William Douglas of Almorness.
James Nish of Barlochan.
The Hon. Sir Edward Crofton, Bart, of Mole.
he Hon. Edward Richard Stewart.
John Kirkpatrick of Bogrie.
William Mure of Twynholm Mains.
George Manual of Nunland Mains.
Gilbert Young of Youngfield.
Richard Howat of Mabie.
Adam Maitland of Dundrennan.
David Kennedy of Knocknalling.
William Anderson, writer in Edinburgh.
Dr, John Walker, physician in Kirkcudbright.
John Bell of Gribdie.
Sir Charles Halkett of Pitferran, Baronet.
John Commelin of Nether Balfier.
Sir James Montgomery of Stanhope, Baronet.
Andrew Wedderburn, merchant in London.
Ebenezer Drew of Auchenhae.
John McKie, younger of Bargally.
Thomas Corrie of Meikle Culloch.
Alexander Murray of Broughton.

Voters for William Douglas, Esq.
Peter Johnston of Carnsalloch.
Adam Thomson Mure of Muncraig.
John Martin of Kilwhanidy.
Ebenezer Shaw of Drumrash.
John Gordon of Carleton.
The Rev. Dr. David Lamont of Erncrogo.
James McMichan of Meikle Furthhead.
Sir Alexander Gordon of Culvennan, Knt.
John Heron of Ingleston.
William Hamilton, merchant in Sanquhar.
James Hannay of Blairinnie.
James Gordon of Culvennan.
Samuel Douglas of Crae.
John Napier of Mollance.
James Napier of Waterside.
William Porter Muirhead Herries of Spottes.
Major.General James Dunlop of Dunlop.
David MCCulloch of Torrhousekie.
William Bushby of Kirkmichael.
Alexander Reid of Kirkennan.
Sir James Shaw of Polmadie, Bart.
Major John Culton of Auchnabony.
Robert Whigham of Hallidayhill.
Edward Boyd of Mertonhall.
Thomas Miller, younger of Glenlee, Advocate.
Robert Hannay, younger of Blairinnie.
Walter Bigham Lawrie of Redcastle.
Robert Ainslie of Edingham.
Samuel Gordon of Lochdougan.
Dr Alexander Wylie of Over Laggan.